On most social media platforms, including Snapchat, when you get blocked, you don't get a notification showing that this person has blocked you. And so, how can you tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat?
Well, knowing if someone has blocked you on Snapchat is pretty straightforward. In this post, we will show ways how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat. So, keep reading!
Getting blocked on Snapchat can be confusing because you go from chatting tonight to waking up to no chat the next day. You can even send them a text or view their account. However, people sometimes confuse being blocked and being removed on Snapchat. So, keep this in mind as well, and we will discuss the difference between these two later in this post.
Now, with that said, let's determine how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat.
To get to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat then here is how to about it:
Search Their Full Name or Username
It is, without a doubt, the first and the perfect step. So, how does this step work?
Well, if you have been blocked on Snapchat by someone, you won't be able to see their account when you search for it. To check this, open your Snapchat and on the top-left corner of your screen, you will see the search (magnifying glass) icon, click on it.
After that, enter their username or full name and see if their name shows up. If it doesn't, there are two possibilities: either they have blocked you or deleted their account. Therefore, not seeing their name come up isn't a definitive answer they have blocked, so it is better to investigate further.
What if their name shows up?
In this case, it may be because they have taken an alternative option to block you: removing you from their friends list.
Check Recent Chats or Conversations
Checking conversation is another way you can use to check if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. This step is an application if you have already spoken with them on Snapchat. Otherwise, this step will not be useful to you've never.
To check this, open Snapchat and tap on the speech bubble icon beside the capture tab at the bottom left corner. It will take you to the chats page, which will show your chat history. If you have had a conversation with them before and they don't show up in your chat history, it might hint that you have been blocked.
What if you see their name on chat history?
In this case, tap on that chat and try to send them a message. If it goes through, you're not blocked. However, if it gives an automated message like 'Failed to send your message Tap to try again,' you are probably blocked.
Note : such a message can be displayed if you have a connection problem, so be sure to confirm that before concluding you've been blocked.
What if it shows pending?
It is another possible outcome you can get by sending them a message. In such a case, you likely have been deleted from their friends/contact list on Snapchat.
Use Your Friend or Different Account to Search for Their Name
If their name doesn't appear on the search when you search from your account, then you should try searching them via another account. It will help you know if they have deleted their account or just blocked you.
Preferably using your friend's account will be a good way to proceed as long as they haven't been blocked. Or you can sign out from your account and create a new one. Instead of logging out, you can download the app on the new device and install it. It is a perfect option to go with as it would remove doubts that they might have been blocked.
So, if you search using a different account and it shows up, it means you have been blocked.
Check Your Snapchat Contact List
Another way to check whether someone has blocked you on Snapchat is by checking your Snapchat contact list. If they were there, let's say, last night, and they have disappeared today, you may have been blocked.
However, if they have been removed as a contact, you may not see them in your contact list, so check that as well. To do this, go to the Snapchat network and search them. If you can see them in the Snapchat network and re-add them, you are not blocked but instead removed.
What's the Difference Between Blocked and Removed on Snapchat?
Being removed (also known as unadded) on Snapchat may feature some similarities to being blocked, but trust me, these two actions are very different.
Being removed is like being unfriended, which means you can still re-add that person and even view their name and account when you search them. Being removed basically can be reversed or 'mediated' in some sense. However, being blocked "Scorched Earth" is an upgraded option of being removed. It means they have permanently cut off all connections.
When you've removed you can still see their stories if they're set to 'Everyone,' but if you're blocked, you cannot see anything regardless of their settings.
Why Block or Remove Someone or Even Delete a Snapchat Account?
Social media spaces can be hectic and harmful if you're not careful. All these social media contents are full of bad things, just like they have many benefits or positives. Scammers, bullies, and inappropriate content.
Therefore, to help moderate all these, social media have incorporated block and remove options for anyone that needs it. If someone sends you inappropriate messages, you can block them or remove them from your Snapchat friends list.
When it comes to young kids, Snapchat can be a good or bad space if you aren't careful as a parent. Therefore, this calls for better parental control and monitoring, which can be achieved using parental control apps such as AirDroid Parental Control.
Use AirDroid Parental Control to Regulate or Block Snapchat
Some of the core features of this application include:
Daily Usage Report: Get to know what your kids do with their devices all day. From the AirDroid dashboard, you can see which applications they have viewed, what videos they have been watching, and more important info.
Location Tracker: Ensure your kids' real-time safety by knowing their location. Viewing their location will save you time, hustle, and stress finding them. Surprisingly with this application, you can set the geo-fenced zones such that you will get notified when they leave these zones.
Remote Monitor: See and hear what is happening in your children's surroundings.
App & Screen Time Management: Ensure digital habits by managing your kids' screen time using this comprehensive parental control app. Set available times when they can use their devices, how long they can use them, and which applications or websites to avoid.
Sync App Notifications: This feature lets you know which notifications your kids are getting. When they receive a notification, you will immediately get notified as well, and you can see what that notification is.
Why the AirDroid Parental Control App?
There are many parental control app alternatives; some are cheap, some are expensive, but the question is: Why the AirDroid Parental Control app? Well, here are some of the key reasons why:
This application is an advance and comprehensive parental control app that you can currently get.
Its Screen Mirroring feature is one of the key features that make this app exclusive from the rest. With this feature, you can look at your child's device's current screen and know what they are viewing, doing or whom they are chatting with.
Get notified when they get notification.
Great location tracking with an option to set geo-fenced zone notifications.
Wrap It Up
Getting blocked or blocking someone in any social media app is the norm currently. Therefore, you don't have to worry about getting blocked on Snapchat. How to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat is quite an easy and quick process that will take a couple of minutes.
Using the above ways, you can tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat, whether they have just deleted you or you are removed from their contact list. And if you're a parent who wants to block some of your kid's friends on Snapchat or block your kid from using Snapchat, then you can opt for the parental control app.
Elsa has worked on a number of iOS & Android solutions, she can always find her way around almost any application. She is an accomplished, skilled and versatile writer with more than 7 years of technical article writing experience.